Quest Europe 2012 – A Jury Member’s view back

Well, I have just arrived back from the Quest Europe Film Festival, where I was invited to be a jury member for a second year. It was a lot of fun, and a lot harder than last year. There was no clear winner, and I was split. Charles, the jury member thought one thing. But Charlie, the guy sitting in the audience thought another thing. And so here were my three favourite films (in no particular order) from Quest Europe 2012. And, yes, my favourite films were a little bit different from what I thought as a jury member…

Strona A – Brilliant. I really enjoyed watching this film and I wanted to learn more of what happened after the credits began to roll.

Ditto for Ingenuity (which you can view fully online), I just wanted to know more.

But my favourite, the laugh out loud film, that tickled me silly had to be The Man with a Plastic Bag. Documentary my ass, but who cares, it was fantastic, and had me in creases the whole way through!

So there you have it, my three favourite films from this year’s Quest Europe. Special kudos has to go to Green Olives. A hard film to watch, but brilliantly done. Also, another film that made me laugh was Night Visitor. The two main actors were one hell of a comedy pair – more of them please!

An absolutely wonderful festival, it always astounds me how a small town in Western Poland manages to pull off such a spectacle. Quest Europe has many more editions ahead of it, long may it reign, in its quest to bring quality films to the masses!

Leave a comment

Filed under film, poland

Leave a Reply

