Whats in a name

One of the (many) reasons why I have not blogged extensively about the new feature film I am pre-producnig is this. The name. I cannot think of a good title for the film.

Now nothing is set in stone, and to be honest, a lot can change between now and the end of the final diting. But so far, the names have been a particular problem for me. I will boast about my writing skills. I can hone down a story pretty well and knock out a script in a relatively short space of time. These are my strengths.

However, I am lousy at names.

It starts with the characters. For som reason, I never give them a proper name. They just get assigned a tag, like ‘Old Man’, ‘Mother’, ‘Thin Lady’. So during the scrip, the number of the nameless can usually out number the named personnel. In one of my script, I have taken this to the extreme, with the major characters not having names, but the minor ones all being named, to avoid confusion. But think about it. In the real world, when you say hello to your wife, or to your friends, how often do you actually use their name. As in, ‘Hello Tom’ or suchlike?

But I am really bad with naming the script For some reason, my though process goes to pot when thinking of a title for films. To date, I have only liked one name, ‘Caution Wet Paint’, and even that makes no sense. So now, without further ado, I ask you to think of a name. The current titles are ‘Ritchie Fernando’, ‘South of The River’ and ‘Great Brytania’ (that last one is not a spelling mistake, but the Polish word for Britain). To give some idea of the film, it takes place in both Poland and London and focuses on the lives of two lovers who descend into London’s world of vice.

I am not always a happy writer…

So, titles. Please. Anyone?

1 Comment

Filed under film

One response to “Whats in a name

  1. Sorry for not having visited your blog in recent days – my work days changed causing a little shuffle with my days off. 🙂
    Enjoyed reading your writing process, it is very interesting. That you can create a story is an achievement and a great talent.
    Here are some title suggestions using your own words or the description you gave of the movie:
    ‘Descent into London’ or ‘Descension’
    ‘Lovers’ spiral’ or ‘Lovers spiral down’ or ‘Love spirals’ or ‘Love Journeys down’ or ‘Downward love’
    ‘Polandon’ (combining poland and london)
    ‘Meet me in London’ or ‘Meet in London’ or ‘London Vice’
    ‘Virtue and Vice’ or ‘Virtue and Vice, and more Vice’

Leave a Reply

