So that was Christmas 2011

For those that are going back to work today, tough luck. I have been working throughout the Christmas period. And entertaining, and bending backwards for other people, and spending like crazy. And now it is officially over (yesterday was a public holiday) I can state that how glad I am that I will not be seeing this jolly time for another year.

Really, how does the rest of the world put up with it. I do not know what is worse. Pretending to enjoy other people’s company, the little children milling around or the crazy amounts of cash being spent. Enforced family get-togethers, airport runs, or having to really think is that other person all right, well fed, watered, looking after this and that person accompanying you when, let us be honest, for the rest of the year, you would not give a hoot about them. Phone calls to and from foreign lands to people in a lot of places far nicer than myself and a Christmas Pudding that just did not come out all right. In fact it was disgusting. Uninvited guests popping in and doing very little use apart from being an extra mouth to feed, a lack of private time with intimate ones and fun that really is not fun.

Sounds familiar? Well, that was my Christmas, and it was not a blast. Really, I think that some of the bet parts of Xmas 2011 was being at work. It was a lot more relaxing than spending it around my family and loved ones. Oh yes, that phrase, loved ones. Bah, bloody, humbug. I do not know what is worse. Actually getting a present and trying to keep it a surprise (spectacular fail this year) or receiving a present and trying to feign interest in it – I m terrible to buy gifts or, I just do not want anything. And subsequently I am terrible at buying gifts – why aren’t people happy with cash?

Oh, and do not talk about the driving this year. It was painful. A colleague of mine is married to a Polish Lady, whose family always uses Stansted as their choice of entry to the UK. Living, like me, on the other side of the city to that accursed airport, he once spent 12 hours of his life, going to Stansted from his home, waiting there because of delays and getting back to his home. As a result of this single event, he sold his car and told his in-laws to find their own way to his house. No joke, true story.

I spent eight hours on Friday doing the same thing. Longer than my shift at work that night. I have never been so intimate with the backstreets of Tooting as I was over the past few days.

And I just had to be up at 3am this morning to get to that airport by 5am.

So, just to reiterate the obvious in this post, let me sum up my thought of Christmas 2011.

I HATE STANSTED AIRPORT.

I HATE CHRISTMAS FUN.

I HATE TAKING PEOPLE AROUND LONDON TO SEE THE FRIGGIN’ SIGHTS THAT I HAVE SEEN A MILLION TIMES.

I HATE BUYING LOUSY PRESENTS.

I HATE GETTING USELESS STUFF IN RETURN.

AND I HATE STANSTED AIRPORT. I REALLY HATE THIS GOD-FORSAKEN STRETCH OF ESSEX.

So thank goodness Christmas is over. I have had enough, and I need a holiday from all this shit. I think January is a good time to get away from it all…and I do not want to see anymore than one loved one on my travels…bah humbug!

2 Comments

Filed under life

2 responses to “So that was Christmas 2011

  1. I am too hyper of a person for Christmas stand-still. My family is used to me rushing in and spending a few hours and rushing off. I spend just enough time for interesting talk and then I’m gone. This year on Christmas Day we took off for camping. . .oh, and my Christmas list (cash only please) 🙂

  2. Christmas is just another day for me. No gifts, no socials. I did watch the pope’s christmas mass on TV, and found it quite interesting and peaceful. I especially enjoyed noting how everyone at the altar was bowing to each other and to the objects of worship – it had a very eastern flair to it.

Leave a Reply

